Ubuntu

Ubuntu- author unknown

An anthropologist thought he would test these African children. He placed a bowl of fruit underneath a tree and told them that the first one to reach the tree could have the fruit. When he told the children to run, they all took each others’ hands and ran together. They all enjoyed the fruit together. This is the African concept of Ubuntu. In my opinion, it is also why Africa is preyed upon by the vultures untamed and let loose by other cultures.

When asked why they didn’t run the course alone, they answered, UBUNTU! How can we be happy when others are sad?

UBUNTU in Xhosa is roughly translated, “I am because we are.”

**********************************************************************************************************

I first heard of UBUNTU at a convention for my ASEA business.  It has become the motto for our company because of its wonderful philosophy of togetherness.  Recently I ran across the story in today’s post and was reminded again of this way of thinking.  I love the picture of those children linking hands and reaching the fruit together.  It reminds me of may stories and pictures I have seen of athletes in the Special Olympic games.  That spirit of caring about others more than ourselves is so beautiful.

Jesus had many names, often starting with “I am” or with others saying “He is.”  He is the Rock (Isaiah 28:16), I am the Light (John 8:12), I am the Way (John 14:6).  And each of those “I am” names spoke of the ways in which He enhances our lives, saves us from eternal darkness, or supports us as we go through life.  I think the concept of UBUNTU began in Him those many years ago don’t you?

Have a blessed day!  UBUNTU!

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts!